Random thoughts

Of all the sexist stuff in our culture perhaps the most troubling is the universal notion that God is a dude. (Setting aside for now the notion that He is Caucasian.) I think that would irritate me the most, had I had the random accident of being born female rather than male. And what is with the long hair and beard? Seems if He can do anything, he should be able to get a haircut and a shave. For that matter He can just will Himself to have whatever hairstyle he wants. But the long flowing robe is nice, I'm sure it's very comfortable. Do you think He has just one, that "stays clean"? Probably no dirt in heaven.

I would think we should have a more common conception of what God should look like. I think He/She would have to be pictured as someone we all know, that is generally our basis for picturing someone, and we would want Him/Her to be universal. How about Betty White? Or maybe that little guy from "Different Strokes"? Or how about Lassie? That would get my vote, I think a dog would be a perfect model for God. It's probably not a coincidence that Dog is an anagram for God, more likely a divine message.


Some random thoughts while on my social distancing walk today.

The aftermath of The Virus and the social consequences of it will be interesting. For example, I’m not the first person to forecast that there might be a new baby boom starting about nine months from now. More interesting though will be the names that people choose for these little babies: Fauci? Q'Tina? Zoom? Claustro?

Maybe when this is all over the press will not refer to people as "consumers", and just think of them as people again.

I was thinking about a disagreement I had with one of my children the other day, and of course we looked up the answer with Google and settled it. It strikes me that Google has ruined arguing. You can’t really have a disagreement with a friend about sports in a bar anymore, you just look up the answer. That’s not fun. If we can’t argue anymore, how we deal with anger and fear? Do we have to be nice to each other?

It struck me a while back that the two acceptable outlets for anger and fear are sporting events and driving. It’s the only chance we get to really scream at people, other than family of course.

Yes, you are right, my mind is a house of horrors. It just go off careening in lots of scary directions. I’ve heard it said that the mind is a drunken monkey, maybe a Chinese proverb (I could look it up on Google), and I certainly believe that is true. Mine is even worse since my cancer experiences, I’m pretty much bombarded with crazy thoughts and weird dreams all the time. I tried meditation but I kept falling asleep. Who doesn't? It’s bad enough to be guided by voices, but particularly bad when the voice is mine.

Here’s a thought: I was just wondering how those rich people who paid that consultant half a million bucks to get their kids into a top college are feeling about now, when their child is upstairs quarantining, watching TikTok for 16 hours a day.

How the hell do butterflies fly on a windy day?

Comments

Popular posts from this blog